For this generation, by this generation

Operating Region.

The STM operating region governs where we can operate projects - it allows us to control our capacity where necessary and gives us a core goal on where to improve our network.

We ❤️ the Midlands

The Midlands is at the heart of what we do. We have the potential and the wish to expand our boundaries over time - but for now, we'd like to target our capacity to the region we call home. Our largest city is Birmingham, followed by Sheffield, Leicester, Coventry, Nottingham, and Stoke-on-Trent. We're based in Northampton, our 8th-largest city.

East Midlands.

East Midlands covers the following Local Authority Areas:

  • Derby
  • Derbyshire
  • Leicester
  • Leicestershire
  • Lincolnshire
  • North East Lincolnshire
  • North Lincolnshire
  • North Northamptonshire
  • Nottingham
  • Nottinghamshire
  • Peterborough
  • Rutland
  • South Yorkshire (CA)

  • West Midlands.

    West Midlands covers the following Local Authority Areas:

  • Cheshire East
  • Gloucestershire
  • Herefordshire
  • Shropshire
  • Staffordshire
  • Stoke-on-Trent
  • Telford & Wrekin
  • Warwickshire
  • West Midlands (CA)
  • Worcestershire

  • South Midlands.

    South Midlands covers the following Local Authority Areas:

  • Bedford
  • Buckinghamshire
  • Cambridgeshire
  • Central Bedfordshire
  • Hertfordshire
  • Luton
  • Milton Keynes
  • Oxfordshire
  • West Northamptonshire